Book Review: Divergent

I know I’ve been MIA for a while. Things have been ridiculously busy and stressful at work and last Saturday was the boy’s birthday so I really haven’t had a ton of downtime. But, I’m back! I know how much you all missed me!

I originally read this book when it first came out and I enjoyed it so much that I ended up recommending it to a bunch of people. I’m not sure why it took me so long to review it but better late than never!

Divergent, by Veronica Roth, HarperCollins, 2012,  576 pp.

The Hook: 

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

(Book description from Amazon.)

My Thoughts: I feel like I touch on a lot of similar points in all of my reviews so I’ve decided to experiment with a new, more reader friendly, way of presenting my POV. Let me know if it works better or not!

World Building: Believable but not completely unique
I know that a society divided into specific factions is not exactly a unique idea but I loved how Roth presented it. I was intrigued by the different groups and the values that they touted. I think Roth succeeded in making the world believable enough for her readers to get sucked in and different enough to make you really fear what might come in the future!

Main Characters: Likable with a few minor flaws
I mostly liked the main characters, Tris and Four. Both were strong and likable characters in their own right. Neither was “saving” the other which I really appreciated. Unfortunately, they both suffer (Tris more so than Four) from “the chosen one syndrome” (yes, I am totally stealing that phrase from mysticcooking) of which I am not a huge fan. Not all main characters have to be “special” you know! But for the most part, I liked them and their relationship with one another. Though, I kind of wish that Four wasn’t such a Debbie Downer all the time. He tended to get a bit too emo for my tastes at times.

Plot: Kept me on the edge of my seat
Fast-paced and fantastic! There was never a dull moment and it was definitely one of those books I just couldn’t put down!

Romance: Squee-worthy
The romance wasn’t really necessary to the story as a whole, in my opinion, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m also really glad that the whole book didn’t revolve around the romance. It wasn’t the main course,  just a delicious side!

Whininess: Just-a-little-whiny
If you’ve read some of my other reviews, you know that one of my pet peeves is whiny heroines. I’m happy to say that Tris wasn’t a whiner. There was one part that I thought she got a little too melodramatic and I kinda wanted to smack her, but luckily, that was short-lived.

Overall: Definitely recommend for those looking for a quick, action packed read.

Ages: 15 and up- Violence, Mature Themes

Rating: 4/5 Stars

You can purchase Divergent (Book 1) at Amazon.

Leave a comment